Common Announces New Album “Nobody Smiling” With No I.D. And Releases “War”

Posted: January 6, 2014 by ericbernsen in Music, News, Songs/Videos
Tags: , , , , , ,

While Common is always staying busy in some shape or form (mainly as an actor), we have not heard a solo hip-hop project from him since 2011 when he released The Dreamer/The Believer. The project, which was executively produced by longtime collaborator No I.D, was generally well-received as the chemistry between the two veterans is consistently impressive. Luckily enough, today marked an announcement that will result in more music between Common and No I.D. as another full-length album is in the works for 2014. 

In an interview with RevoltTV, the Chicago emcee officially spoke on the project that will be titled Nobody Smiling. The album was originally only meant to be an EP, but naturally Common and No I.D got into a groove recording more and more music. Common talked a little about the details of Nobody Smiling and some of the influence behind the body of work:

“I feel excited about the project I’m working on. It’s called Nobody Smiling. It’s an album; originally I was making it an EP, but we’ve just been making a lot of songs, myself and No I.D. We came up with this concept—Nobody Smiling was really a thought that came about because of all the violence that was going on in Chicago, or that is going on… It happens in Chicago, but it’s going on around the world in many ways, in inner cities all over America. We were talking about the conditions of what was happening when I said Nobody Smiling, but it’s really a call to action.”

That quote alone was enough to get us excited, but sure enough the news didn’t stop there. During halftime of the BCS National Championship game between Florida St. and Auburn, Common and No I.D. decided to let loose a track named “War” that is supposedly from the upcoming LP.

The song has an interesting vibe to it as No I.D. comes with a beat that feels more appropriate for a movie soundtrack than a Common single. Nevertheless, Common is rapping with vengeance as the lyrics fit the title of the song justly. This track will have to grow on some people, but I predict that it will make more sense within the context of the album. For me personally, hearing “War” as me excited for the direction Common is going in with the project (even if he does sound like Mickey Mouse at the end of the song).

Watch Common announce the details regarding Nobody Smiling and also take a listen to “War” while you are at it.

Comments
  1. […] last heard from Common about a month ago when he released the track “War” and news came about of an upcoming album with longtime collaborator No I.D.  titled Nobody […]

Leave a Reply

