Nas Set To Release 20th Anniversary Edition of “Illmatic”, Will Perform Whole Album At Festivals

Posted: February 6, 2014 by ericbernsen in Music, News
Tags: , , ,

Nas’s debut album Illmatic is considered by many to be the best hip-hop album of all time. 2014 will be the 20 year anniversary of that classic project and Nas has announced some special celebration plans for it. The Queens rapper will be releasing a special 20 year edition of his debut that will be titled Illmatic XX and it will include a remastered edition of Illmatic as well as an extra disc of demo’s, remixes, and unreleased records from the “golden era” time period. The project is already available for pre-order on iTunes and Nas also revealed that he will be performing the full album at upcoming festivals this year such as Coachella. So while we wait on another solo project from Nas, 2014 is shaping up to be a year in which Illmatic is brought back to the light and appropriately honored.

Take a look at the tracklist of Illmatic XX and read more details about Nas’s plan to celebrate Illmatic’s 20 year anniversary below:

“With Illmatic, I didn’t think about it. I just did it,” Nas says of his iconic debut album. “I believe everybody has good instincts. Now I’m a man from that past and I’m supremely grateful. There’s a Nigerian proverb ‘What is past is prologue’. I’m here today because of Illmatic.”

“Nas will also be touring this year to celebrate this milestone for Illmatic, where he plans to perform the whole album front to back. Thus far he has confirmed performances at John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, as well as Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival. More show dates will be released in the near future. Nas also plans on releasing a documentary, Time is Illmatic, later this year.”

1. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)
2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
4. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)
5. One Love (LG Main Mix)
6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)
7. One Love (One L Main Mix)
8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)

  1. […] Nas begins to celebrate the 20th anniversary of his classic debut album Illmatic, reports have come out that XBOX Entertainment Studios is working on a half-hour series loosely […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s