Nas Speaks On Upcoming Xbox TV Series “Street Dreams” Based On His Life

Posted: February 15, 2014 by ericbernsen in Interviews, Music, News
Tags: , , ,

As Nas begins to celebrate the 20th anniversary of his classic debut album Illmatic, reports have come out that XBOX Entertainment Studios is working on a half-hour series loosely based on the Queensbridge emcee’s life in the 90’s. Tentatively titled Street Dreams, the series would be set in the Queensbridge housing complex that Nas grew up in and would be focused on his journey as an aspiring emcee. The series is set to be written and directed by Jonathan Levine, who took home the Audience Award at the 2008 Sundance Film Festival for The Wackness. Nas confirmed the report in an interview with Rolling Stone and spoke on how important it is to him that the show is 100% authentic.

I’m hands-on with everything, so this show is 100 percent authentic. Even if I don’t look cool in it, I just want it to be real and raw. I didn’t see this as a full autobiography at first. But I have so much that’s happened in my life already, there was no room for fantasy. I wanted it to be entertaining, but everything from my life seemed to be so strong. It’s all reality. There’s nothing from my life I didn’t want in there.

This is certainly good news to be hearing from the man himself. Nas won’t be starring in the series, but he will be contributing music and co-writing many of the episodes. Nas also commented on the differences between writing songs and writing scripts:

It’s a whole different process. It’s really therapeutic. I look back and I think about my mom [who passed away in 2002] and I know she’s looking down. Sometimes, I have a conversation with her, like, ‘Did you ever think that our story would be put to film for people to see? Did you know it was that special back then?’ I felt it was that special. This is life. I have to accept that and that’s what writing this is like.

While Street Dreams still seems to be in its beginning stages, Nas hope that the series will start production sometime this year. We will continue to keep tabs on the report and hope the concept of the series can fulfill its potential.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

