Week Of K.R.I.T. Roundup: Big K.R.I.T. Releases Six New Tracks, Previews ‘Cadillactica’ LP

Posted: March 16, 2014 by ericbernsen in Music, News, Songs/Videos
Tags: , , , ,

The career trajectory of Mississippi rapper Big K.R.I.T. has been one of the more interesting stories in hip-hop over the past several years. Big K.R.I.T. built up a massive amount of hype for himself after putting out numerous mixtapes, with each one being filled with high quality beats and rhymes from the multi-talented artist. Big K.R.I.T. is a thoroughbred product of Southern hip-hop music and has already earned the respect of multiple legends in the rap game such as 9th Wonder and Bun B. However, there were some who felt let down by Big K.R.I.T.’s debut studio album Live From The Underground, which was released in 2012. Critics felt that the project was a let down in comparison to Big K.R.I.T.’s mixtapes, and that puts him in an interesting situation this year. Big K.R.I.T. is prepping the release of his upcoming album Cadillactica, and he recently promoted the project by hosting a #WeekOfKrit in the first week of March. Each day of the week, Big K.R.I.T. put out a new track and all of these songs led up to the final day that marked the unveiling of a Cadillactica preview video. Needless to say, fans of Big K.R.I.T. have been overjoyed with this influx of material and the music distribution concept was a smart marketing move as K.R.I.T. looks to silence his doubters.

The #WeekOfKrit started off with a smooth cut “New Agenda” that features an abstract beat from Big K.R.I.T. as well as a strong guest verse from Rick Ross. Next up was the introspective, soulfully produced “Conscious Effort Freestyle”, which was then followed by a standout collaboration with A$AP Ferg on “Lac Lac”. Other songs from the #WeekOfKrit such as “Wolf On Wallstreet” and “Egyptian Cotton” are also solid offerings and Big K.R.I.T.’s final full track “Steps” featuring Big Sant and Smoke DZA wrapped things up. All of these songs led up to the short preview video for Big K.R.I.T.’s Cadillactica album. The visuals are a cliffhanger of sorts as they cut off abruptly as a booming beat is about to kick in. Overall, the #WeekOfKrit was a great way for Big K.R.I.T. to build some buzz and tracks like “New Agenda” and “Lac Lac” have us especially excited for what is to come in the Cadillactica era.

Listen to all of the #WeekOfKrit songs below as well as watch the Cadillactica preview video. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

